The History of
Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc.

On September 19, 1963, at Morgan State College (now Morgan State University), 12 students founded the Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Incorporated ®, and established the following purpose: “The development and perpetuation of Scholarship, Leadership, Citizenship, Fidelity, and Brotherhood among Men.”

As Iota Phi Theta continues to grow and strengthen, so will its commitment to make meaningful contributions to society in general, with particular emphasis in the African-American community. Throughout America, Iota Phi Theta ® has come to represent excellence in all areas. The Fraternity is, and shall forever remain dedicated to its founders’ vision of Building a Tradition, Not Resting Upon One.

Front Row L-R: Honorable Founder Louis Hudnell, Bro. Wesley Jennings, Honorable Founder Lonnie Spruill Jr., Honorable Founder Charles Briscoe, Bro. Ronald Flamer, Bro. Daniel Henson.
Back Row L-R: Bro. Willie Barber, Bro. Charles Watts, Bro. Ronald Wheatley, Honorable Founder Elias Dorsey, Jr., Bro. Calvin Freedland, Bro. Jeff Johnson, Honorable Founder Baron Willis